HEALTH REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOL ENTRY
Immunization requirements must be met by all students before starting school. All school personnel registering students need to be able to evaluate documentation presented by parents/guardians. Please confer with the school nurse to understand the health requirements.
In order for students to attend a school, the following is required:
A certificate from a licensed physician stating that the student has been successfully immunized against communicable diseases as required by state law.
- DTP, DtaP, DT or TD: Minimum of 3 doses with one dose on or after 4th birthday or 6 doses before 4th birthday.
- Polio (OPV or IPV): Minimum of 3 doses with one dose on or after 4th birthday or 4 doses before 4th birthday.
- Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR): 2 doses of measles, 1 dose of mumps and rubella, all at 12 months (365 days) or older.
- Hepatitis B (Hep B): The Hepatitis B three-shot series is required by Virginia State Law for all students born on or after 1/1/94. Also, students entering 6th, 7th and 8th grade must have documentation of this series to receive their schedule. Please take this information to your child's middle school. If you have questions, please call the school nurse or Health Services at 757-591-4646.
- Varicella (Chicken Pox): 1 dose at 12 months (365 days) or older (if born on or after 1/1/97).
The certificate must show the number of doses of each immunization given, including the month, day, and year administered. If complete dates are not available then the record must be certified by a medical doctor or a health department official. If a student has no immunization record (for any reason), they can be conditionally enrolled with one dose of DPT, OPV, MMR, Hepatitis B and Chicken Pox (if applicable), and a plan for series completion. There is no grace period.
- Students being admitted for the first time to any NNPS elementary school (Pre-K through grade 5) are required to provide a report of a comprehensive physical examination, signed by a licensed physician or nurse practitioner, performed within twelve months of the enrollment date.* Students who have never been enrolled in a school before must have their physical exam completed on the Virginia State Form (MCH 213-D). Attach First Step or kindergarten out-of-state physicals to the MCH 213-D.
* For students transferring into NNPS K-5, a copy of a physical examination in their cumulative record, which meets the above requirements, will be accepted. For Pre-K transfers, only physicals from NNPS PEEP program, First Step, and N.N. Head Start will be accepted. All other Pre-K students must have a physical within 12 months of enrollment date** into NNPS.
* All students may have a grace period not to exceed 30 school days to obtain the required physical examination. (Note: This does not apply to immunizations.) Students who have not obtained a physical by the end of the grace period will be excluded from school until the required document is provided.
*The initial enrollment date is the first date of school attendance in any school system (K through 5).
**Enrollment date in NNPS is the first date of attendance, not registration.
Note: With questions about specific immunizations, you may call the Peninsula Health Department Immunization Clinic at (757)594-7410.
HEALTH TIPS FROM THE SCHOOL NURSE
Here are some rules to reduce the spread of germs at PEEP:
If your child has an elevated temperature, remember that he or she must be fever-free for 24 hours before returning to school.
Runny noses are not unusual in children, but when your child has a bad runny nose, or is very congested, or coughing so that is interferes with school activities, he or she should stay home.
Any child with vomiting or diarrhoea should be kept at home.